Furious 7 (2015) Review

o-FURIOUS-7-facebook
Furious 7 (2015) Review
Hello everyone! Shane here with another review and today I will be reviewing the speedy film Furious 7, the latest installment in the Fast & Furious franchise. This is a big film in what it means to the fans and family of Paul Walker and the rest of the crew. I know what I’m going to get going in with the Furious movies but I still have some expectations. So let’s see how it was!
Plot: Deckard Shaw seeks revenge against Dominic Toretto and his family for his comatose brother. -imdb.com
My Thoughts:
The Fast & Furious franchise used to be a racing type of franchise in the first 3 films which was cool but they really weren’t that great, but everything changed with the fourth installment, Fast & Furious. That film took the series from a typical racing game to a high action thriller based around jobs that they’re hired to do or forced into. This film is a sequel to both Fast & Furious 6 and Tokyo Drift chronologically, building off the character Owen Shaw by introducing his brother who’s hell bent on revenge. Now Jason Statham is awesome, but really a big problem was that he was just Jason Statham in this film.
I really didn’t care or feel the need to care that he was Owen Shaw’s brother. The only reason why he is attacking the furious family is because they comatosed his brother and the only reason why they’re attacking back is because he killed Han, but it really didn’t need to be a brother of Shaw for this plot to work out. You could’ve just had a new villain kill Han and it would be the same thing. There really wasn’t a lot of character development behind Jason Statham’s character, so again he was just kind of there and I didn’t really need to care about him. Other than that though, the rest of the characters are what you want and what you expect which is always a plus, but like I said, you know what you’re going to get going in. There was also the addition of Kurt Russell who seems like a genuine good guy but in the end I’m just not sure how good or bad he is but he was pretty cool.
Now we’re at the part that we really went into this film for. The action which was as good as it always is though a little farfetched but it’s what we expect and I’m okay with that. My favorite action sequence was Dom vs Shaw when they both have metal pipes or rods or whatever they are. It was a really cool fight though farfetched. There was something that happened before that with them in their cars and I knew what Dom was going to do and was so happy when I was right, not to spoil anything. My biggest complaint isn’t really a complaint about the film itself, but instead it’s about how they destroyed so many cars, so many wonderful cars.
It’s so sad but we wouldn’t have these movies if they didn’t destroy them so ultimately…keep destroying them! Okay I lied, my real biggest complaint was how they were hired to get the Gods Eye so that they could find Shaw and in the end they don’t even have it when it’s time to face Shaw and his crew so all of the missions prior to that didn’t matter in the end because they still didn’t have it, and they wanted it so they could find Shaw yet every single mission, Shaw found them so I never really understood that whole ordeal, it’s just a big plot problem. The thing I was worried about the most was if I was going to notice that it wasn’t all Paul in some of his scenes because some was CG and some was his brothers and to be honest it felt like it was Paul the whole time, I seriously couldn’t even tell and the way they ended it was just perfect and how I would’ve done it. I absolutely loved the ending even though I was still sad.
Overall:
This is a Fast & Furious film, if you liked the previous ones then I’m sure you’ll like this. It was cool on the big screen of course and I plan on getting it on blu-ray. I do recommend it because it is awesome, there’s a lot more awesome stuff that I couldn’t talk about but you need to go see it.
Score: Gold Medal.
Until next time!
-Shane
For Paul

Leave a comment